Do-it-yourself Family History, Part 2: Diving right in (almost)

FTM is sold on Ancestry.com

Families Across Time

jc

DISCLAIMER: There are many web sites devoted to methods and techniques for developing your family tree. I’d seek them out, read what they have to say, and develop a plan that works for you. In other words, just because I hate Brussels sprouts doesn’t mean you need to hate them too. Pick and choose based on your comfort level.

In Part 1 I talked about how you can start your family history with what you have on hand. Most of us have our birth certificates or marriage records and I’ll bet we all have photographs. Together, these items serve as your starting point. As promised, I’d like to talk about some tools you can use you track your stuff.

“But why track it?” you ask. “I don’t have a very big family and I know where all my papers are.”

That may be true. However, over time you may find…

View original post 481 more words

Leave a Reply

